Appreciating photographs

At times I wonder why there are no comments on my flickr photos. The reason is in fact easy to figure out. Unless I am exceptionally good at photography I cannot expect comments/critiques on my work, unless I reciprocate the same to others. For this I need to build a good community of photographers by commenting on their works or participating in discussion etc. Unless I do this there is no way that someone will comment/critique on my work.


There are reasons that I do not want to comment, lack of time and most important point of all is that I do not want to leave a shallow comment with just some chromatic verbs. I really take long time to describe what I like or dislike in a photograph. Flickr might not be the place to critique the photos; it may be ok for comments though.

These are points that I look for in a photography work and this is what I use to rate them. My idea may converge with others or may not, I do not know exactly for sure. It will be great if you let me know your metrics.

Originality: is the idea original? This one is difficult, as most of photographers try to emulate what they have already seen and appreciated and it no sin to emulate good works. At times you need break all the rules to venture into new areas. It takes guts and again there is a risk of going into oblivion when you cannot express your thoughts to others. Original photographs evoke instant joy.

Composition: the structure of photograph, the symmetry, proximity, clutter, clarity, patterns, hidden visuals, action, background, aspect ratio.

Emotion: what is feeling that runs through in me when seeing a photograph? Photographs make you happy, sad, astonish glamorous, surprise or bore you to death.

Techniques: Focus, sharpness, softness, lighting, exposure, depth of field, cropping, framing, perspective, colors, post processing etc.

Essence, what does the photograph convey? What is its purpose? It turns philosophical here.

Aesthetics: This one is relative. When all the above metrics fall in place, the photograph becomes naturally appealing. It brings joy in the viewer. Here again aesthetics is relative and I am yet to get in touch with person who shares same appreciation as me.

When commenting/critiquing you must do justice to the work and help the creator to excel in his next venture and this takes time. Finally I also fear if I may hurt some one in the process…..

Some of my photographs that are close to my heart

Reaching to light

Pondering

kailasanathar Kovil

kapaleswarar Kovil

 

6 Responses to “Appreciating photographs”


  1. 1 Redondo Beach September 5, 2017 at 10:59 pm

    I truly appreciate this post. I bet you sweat glitter. I have learned new things through your website. I have added your blog to my Instagram

  2. 2 Jesse Grillo September 4, 2017 at 10:57 am

    I could not resist commenting. No complaints on this end, simply a amazing piece. You remind me of my roomate back in South Dakota.

  3. 3 press release September 3, 2017 at 6:01 am

    It is rare to see a nice website like this one these days. Great blog. Can you tell us more about this?

  4. 4 Jesse Grillo August 31, 2017 at 8:06 pm

    Wow, that is a really great way of thinking about it! I really like your article.

  5. 5 Karthi February 29, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    Gp, There is still a lot of things to learn in photography and I am happy to see that you are liking my photographs.

  6. 6 gp February 29, 2008 at 12:18 am

    oh dont mind the no comment thing. everybody has a digicam nowadays and everybody just happens to stumble upon the average photos on the web. so the magical ones like yours are found only by friends and the wanderers.

    Originality and essence conveys power. Subject matter and techniques are not constant, hence these are the ones that attract the different types of people. Emotions doesnt appeal the same to everyone. Hence, in the end, putting all together and coming out with something is hard, but can be done not only by pros, but by the ones who has the imagination to capture something only their eyes see for that quantum of a time.

    I like your shots, many photographers try hard to juggle too many things into a photo, your style of having ample space and the subject in a photo creates questions and enables thinking and awe. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Pages

Thru Lens

Tweets

View Karthikeyan S's profile on LinkedIn
Alltop, confirmation that we kick ass

