Why do they ship half baked products ?

.

I wonder why will anybody ship half baked crappy products ? Why do they risk of negative publicity for their products ?If the products is not tested then it is not ready for user, please don’t use us as guinea pigs for your product testing, please test your products before releasing it to the market else say that your product is alpha version.

I am cribbing because, the recently purchased Sandisk music player just hung as soon as it was connected to USB port. Then good old method of unscrewing and removing of battery helped the player to breathe again. Apple’s craftsman ship stands out when compared to Sandisk and I haven’t experienced any problem with iPod till now.

Then there is this text editor e that I tried to evaluate because it promised the power of TextMate on Windows. The editor e just froze my computer forever when I asked editor to open a new file for me. Simple acts as this resulted in me loosing my precious work. No I won’t blame Windows here, the culprit is the editor software. Why do they not test these basic use cases first ?

Who is to be blamed, the marketers or the developers?

.

7 Responses to “Why do they ship half baked products ?”


  1. 1 CEO adviser September 8, 2017 at 2:31 am

    Very nice write up. Fantastic blog! Kudos.

  2. 2 Jesse Grillo September 4, 2017 at 7:42 pm

    I never discovered any attention-grabbing post like yours. Thanks for sharing this interesting blog with us. It is like you wrote the book on it or something. Spot on with this article.

  3. 3 Karthi June 11, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Hi There

    Thanks for your inputs and appreciate your love for ‘e’. After all we are all developers who like to fix things!
    I will try the new ‘e’ and let you know my experience with you and others.

    Thanks once again.
    Karthi

  4. 4 omgpotato May 30, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    Excuse the really bad spelling errors there…im writing while jumping in and out of code…. 🙂

  5. 5 omgpotato May 30, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    So, did you send him a bug report? E generates error logs. (not to mention, since your original posting, has probably had around 8-10 new version releases)

    I would try to run a more current version. Frankly, aside from your blog, a long search on google provided no negative feedback on e, so you’ve struck my attention.

    Btw, I’m not affiliated with them at all, just another developer who really likes e.

    So, if you get a chance, try to run it again. If it doesn’t work, chances are there is something wierd happening, and its a very uncommon problem, since I’ve seen no mention of it on the forums on the e site, or anywhere else. If it does still give you a problem, be sure to send him (Alenxander i think is his name) a big report. Most bug reports are fixed in the next release, and most of the times, releases are about a week apart.

    Also, the problem may not lie directly in e. E is bundled with cygwin, to provide a *nix environment for windows…it allows bundles to run unix commands and gives them a ton more power … however, some people have problems running cygwin (I did on my Vista box…) so you can choose not to run it, you lose a little functionality.

  6. 6 Karthi May 30, 2007 at 9:26 am

    I do agree that beta software might host few bugs. But your quality of software is judged by what kind of bugs pop up at beta testing. The very obivious bugs like the one I experienced should be fished out alpha release itself.

    If you let very silly bugs to present in your beta release, people will not take your software very seriously. Isn’t the case.

    As for my environment settings affecting the product ‘e’, it is possible. But you need to build your software is defensive manner, to take care of unexpected errors.

  7. 7 omgpotato May 30, 2007 at 7:57 am

    As for e…

    I recommend you lookup the definition of beta software.

    Aside from that, I, along with a few thousand others easy, have been using E for a while now (Jan for me) … Not a problem. Add to that the fact that updates generally come about once a week, and problems are fixed nearly immediately when reported. When it works for so many people, but not you, that means something in your setup is causing the problem.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Thru Lens

Tweets

View Karthikeyan S's profile on LinkedIn
Alltop, confirmation that we kick ass

