Euler and the bridges of Konigsberg.

The recent edition of NUMB3RS carried a passing mention of the bridge of konigsberg problem. As always no more details a brief mention and couple of graphics.

One of Euler’s popular triumphs was the solution to the problem of bridge of konigsberg. The river Pregel, known now as Pregolya runs through Konigsberg, which in Euler’s day was in Prussia (It’s now in Russia and called Kaliningrad)

The river divides, creating two islands in centre of the town and Konigsberians built seven bridges to span it. It had be a challenge among the citizen to see if any one could walk around the town, crossing each bridge once and only once and return to starting point.

Euler proved in 1735 that the task was impossible. His proof is often cited as the birth of topology where the actual physical distance between points is irrelevant. It was the network of connections between different paths of the town that was important to Euler’s solution.

30 Responses to “Euler and the bridges of Konigsberg.”


  1. 1 investor speaker September 6, 2017 at 1:07 am

    I truly feel this site needs a great deal more followers Hit me up! I just saw your posts on Tuesday.

  2. 2 investor speaker September 5, 2017 at 12:52 am

    Without proper research, your readers will not be interested and you would lose credibility. Incredible. I was looking everywhere and this popped up like nothing! This page was already running when I opened my computer. it is like you wrote the book on it or something.

  3. 3 big data speaker September 4, 2017 at 11:36 am

    Colors seem brighter when you are around. Keep up the awesome quality writing, it is rare to see a nice posts like this one these days. I enjoy the stuff you provide here and can not wait to take a look when I get home. If you can, shoot me an email and we will discuss more because I have an idea you will love.

  4. 4 Jesse Grillo September 2, 2017 at 10:02 am

    It is very informative and you are obviously very knowledgeable in this area. I have added your post to my Tumblr bookmarks

  5. 5 Jesse Grillo September 2, 2017 at 2:24 am

    Your write up has proven useful to me. I would like to be a master in this topic someday. Can you tell us more about this?

  6. 6 Jesse Grillo September 1, 2017 at 1:48 pm

    Your writing style reminds me of my neighbor back in Illinois. Thank you for writing this great page. You are a very persuasive writer.

  7. 7 Jesse Grillo September 1, 2017 at 4:33 am

    Your points are well formed. You saved me a lot of hassle just now. You should be thanked more often.

  8. 8 Jesse Grillo Jesse Grillo August 31, 2017 at 8:35 am

    That is the thinking of a creative mind. I know top Blog professionals would agree with you. It is like you read my thoughts! There are certainly a lot of info to take into consideration. I really like your post but… I am dyslexic. Do you have Youtube videos on the subject?

  9. 9 car design evolution July 16, 2017 at 11:19 am

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. 😉 ?

  10. 10 elo job br November 5, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    “Counter-Strike” is one of the most popular titles in the
    FPS market and has managed to become even bigger that the game it originated from.
    As far as aesthetics, players have been mostly limited to summoner icons and champion skins.
    Fixed a bug where Fiora could teleport while
    casting Blade Waltz.

  11. 11 elojob November 5, 2014 at 10:35 pm

    “Counter-Strike” is one of the most popular titles in the FPS market
    and has managed to become even bigger that the game it originated from.
    Last night I got to meet Master Gracie for the first time in person and watch him teach a seminar.
    By changing the way we think, we are putting our brain waves in synch with the natural cosmic cycles.

  12. 12 peliculas De amor odio juveniles October 7, 2014 at 3:08 am

    Thanks for the good writeup. It in reality used to be a entertainment account it.
    Glance complex to far brought agreeable from you!
    However, how can we keep up a correspondence?

  13. 13 Ingeborg October 6, 2014 at 10:10 am

    hey there and thank you for your info – I have definitely picked
    up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this web site,
    as I experienced to reload the website many times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is
    OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will
    sometimes affect your placement in google and
    could damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your
    respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  14. 14 peliculas De amor tristes October 6, 2014 at 10:06 am

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.
    I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back sometime soon. I want to encourage that you continue your great posts, have a nice morning!

  15. 15 peliculas de amor bonitas 2013 October 6, 2014 at 9:45 am

    Do you have a spam issue on this blog; I also am
    a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; many of us
    have developed some nice procedures and we are looking to swap techniques with others,
    be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Thru Lens

Tweets

View Karthikeyan S's profile on LinkedIn
Alltop, confirmation that we kick ass

