Trust, What Trust?

I use the world wide extensively to get all kinds of information. I have realized that when I get information that is not related to health, I am at ease to use the information with out any second thoughts. For example when looking for a couple code snippets to achieve some task, I Google for the info and right away use the piece of code/logic to complete my task.

The same holds when I read news sites, blogs etc. Some times I do get doubt about the contents that gets written in blogs, homepages etc. In that case I safely redirect the info to null. When looking for information related to health/medicine I shun going to Google mainly due to fear. Most of the times I do not search for information related to health/medicine on net, I prefer my doctors to get the answers. So much for my double standards!

Some information on the web is very easy to classify as junk. Like the one published here! Similarly I do not doubt the information given by users in the different forums like randi.org , ddj.com and FAQ sections to name a few and reasons for this still baffles me!

There is this good article on how to evaluate information found on the Internet at Johns Hopkins University. How do I trust this one? Some thing like Recursive syndrome!

Meanwhile Prabhu wants few things banned. Check out his blog Prabhu’s Literature.

Tail piece : You can trust all the information present on this site and If you don’t you are encouraged to ignore it. { >  /null }

3 Responses to “Trust, What Trust?”


  1. 1 Ankur June 20, 2006 at 10:37 am

    What you are referring to is quality assurance certificates.
    When you buy a book, the publisher/editor guarentee’s the autenticity of the contents (to some extend), but in the free media its all personal opinion.

  2. 2 S.Karthikeyan June 8, 2006 at 10:34 am

    Gp. Too much information is a bad thing and I want to go back to good old days were Ignorance was bliss which is not anymore.

  3. 3 Gp June 8, 2006 at 8:21 am

    hemm…what you said is true…there is an information overload now…


  1. 1 Shock-Markets » Blog Archive » Institutionalized rumour Trackback on June 20, 2006 at 11:05 am

Leave a Reply

Pages

Thru Lens



More Photos

Tweets

View Karthikeyan S's profile on LinkedIn
Alltop, confirmation that we kick ass

